DOJ: News Release

County Attorneys’ Association Elects Executive Board

HELENA – Yellowstone County Attorney Dennis Paxinos was elected president of the Montana County Attorneys’ Association at the group’s annual criminal law training program and business meeting held recently at Fairmont Hot Springs.

Paxinos will serve as MCAA president for one year until first vice president George Corn, the Ravalli County Attorney, succeeds him. Other officers elected at the Fairmont meeting were Brant Light, Cascade County Attorney, second vice president; Marty Lambert, Gallatin County Attorney, third vice president; Tony Kendall, Carbon County Attorney, secretary and Fred Van Valkenburg, Missoula County Attorney, treasurer. Anaconda-Deer Lodge County Attorney Mike Grayson was appointed to the board of directors.

Montana Attorney General Mike McGrath’s office developed this year’s MCAA program, which focused on the investigation and prosecution of elder abuse. An investigator and a prosecutor led training on recognizing and handling elder abuse cases.

“Abuse of the elderly is a growing problem that, until recent years, has gone largely unrecognized,” McGrath noted, ” so we were very pleased to be able to work with county attorneys on successfully prosecuting these cases and therefore better protecting vulnerable elderly citizens.”

The MCAA is made up of Montana county attorneys and deputy county attorneys. McGrath is the former Lewis & Clark County Attorney.

Share this!

Subscribe to our RSS feed. Tweet this! StumbleUpon Reddit Digg This! Bookmark on Delicious Share on Facebook