DOJ: News Release

McGrath: Three Reappointed to Gaming Advisory Council

HELENA – Attorney General Mike McGrath has reappointed three members to three-year terms on the Gaming Advisory Council.

McGrath said John Tooke of Miles City, Steve Morris of Helena and Tom Scott of Dillon will continue to serve on the GAC through June 2005.

Tooke will represent the gaming industry. He is a past president of the Gaming Industry Association and the owner of the Golden Spur Casino in Miles City. Tooke is a certified public accountant and he serves as an advisor to the Bureau of Economic Research at the University of Montana.

Morris will also represent the gaming industry. He is the current president of the Montana Tavern Association and he owns three Helena-area restaurants/taverns. Morris serves on the Governor’s Alcohol, Tobacco and Other Drug Control Policy Task Force.

Scott, the Beaverhead County Attorney, represents local government interests. Scott has been the Beaverhead County Attorney for 16 years and was a Deputy County Attorney for six years prior to that. He is a past-president of the Montana County Attorneys’ Association. Scott has lived in Dillon since 1980.

The Gaming Advisory Council was created in 1989 to study all aspects of gambling in Montana, to review and comment on administrative rules proposed by the Department of Justice’s Gambling Control Division, and to make recommendations to the department and the legislature on gambling-related matters.

Under state law, the council is made up of nine members: one each from the Senate and the House of Representatives, one public member, two local government representatives, one Native American representative and three gaming industry representatives. Legislative leaders select the legislative members while the attorney general appoints the remaining members.

Share this!

Subscribe to our RSS feed. Tweet this! StumbleUpon Reddit Digg This! Bookmark on Delicious Share on Facebook