Basic Programs

Within the first 12 months of hire, all state, county and city law enforcement officers, correction officers, detention officers, juvenile detention officers, motor carrier service officers and public safety communicators are required to attend and successfully complete the basic course offered for their respective profession. The courses offered by the MLEA range from one to 12 weeks in length.

Law Enforcement Officer Basic Course

The Law Enforcement Officer (LEO) Basic Course is an intensive 12-week course that is offered three times a year. The course is accredited by the Public Safety Officer Standards and Training (POST) Council.

Topics covered include education and training in the fundamentals of policing:

  • Law
  • Human Behavior
  • Police Function
  • Patrol Operations
  • Investigation
  • Traffic Enforcement
  • Police Proficiencies

For reservations and registration, contact either:

Glen Stinar, Program Manager
Phone:  (406) 444-9956
E-mail:  gstinar@mt.gov

OR

Debbie Murray, Administrative Assistant
Phone:  (406) 444-9950
E-mail:  dmurray@mt.gov

Typically, individuals must be hired by a Montana law enforcement agency before they attend the Law Enforcement Officer Basic Course. However, individuals who have not yet been hired by a law enforcement agency and are not sworn officers may apply to attend this course through the Pre-Service Program.

Correction/Detention Officer Basic Course

The Correction/Detention Officer (CDO) Basic Course is a four-week course that is offered five or six times a year.

This course includes education and training in the essential functions of ensuring the safety and security of inmates and other people in the custody of the Department of Corrections, or a county or tribal detention facility. Topics covered include:

  • Human Behavior
  • Corrections/Detentions Operations
  • Corrections/Detentions Proficiencies

For reservations and registration, contact either:

Randy Robinson, Program Manager
Phone: (406) 444-9954
E-mail: rrobinson2@mt.gov

Public Safety Communicator Basic Course

The Public Safety Communicator (PSC) Basic Course is a one-week course that is offered four times a year.

This course includes education and training in the essential functions of providing public safety communication services to law enforcement, fire and emergency medical service agencies. Topics covered include:

  • Effective Communications
  • Incident Documentation
  • Radio and Telephone Procedures

For reservations and registration, contact either:

Roxanne Ross, Program Manager
Phone: (406) 444-5620
E-mail: RRoss@mt.gov

OR

Debbie Murray, Administrative Assistant
Phone: (406) 444-9950
E-mail: dmurray@mt.gov

In addition, public safety communicators must be certified by the CJIN Services Section to operate the Criminal Justice Information Network computer terminals used in all Emergency Dispatch Communications Centers. CJIN courses are conducted on-line, and are accessible from the host agency’s CJIN terminal.

Legal Equivalency Basic Course

Officers who have been granted reciprocity based on their law enforcement qualifications and experience in another state must attend the Legal Equivalency Basic Course, which is offered three times a year.

This course includes education and training in:

  • Montana Legal Update
  • Domestic Violence
  • Use of Force Guidelines
  • Firearms Proficiencies

For reservations and registration, contact:

Paul Szczepaniak, Program Manager
Phone: (406) 444-9958
E-mail: pszczepaniak2@mt.gov

OR

Kim Parvinen, Administrative Assistant
Phone:  (406) 444-9959
E-mail:  kparvinen2@mt.gov

Reciprocity – To apply for reciprocity, a law enforcement officer with out-of-state experience and training who has been hired by a law enforcement agency in Montana must have:

  • completed a law enforcement officer basic course in another state
  • served at least one year with a law enforcement agency
  • successfully completed a one-year probationary period with their prior employer

Contact the Montana Public Safety Officer Standards and Training Council to apply for reciprocity.

Coroner Basic Course

The Coroner Basic Course is a one-week course offered to Montana county coroners and deputy coroners after the general election. Election or appointment as a county coroner or deputy county coroner is a pre-requisite to applying for this course.

This course covers:

  • the laws that govern county coroners
  • operations and protocols for death investigations
  • cause-of-death determinations

For reservations and registration, contact:

Paul Szczepaniak, Program Manager
Phone: (406) 444-9958
E-mail: :  pszczepaniak2@mt.gov

OR

Kim Parvinen, Administrative Assistant
Phone:  (406) 444-9959
E-mail:  kparvinen2@mt.gov