POST Council Members

The Montana Public Safety Officer Standards and Training (POST) Council is a quasi-judicial board

authorized by Section 2-15-2029 of the Montana Code Annotated.

2010-2014 Long Range Operational Plan

The Council is responsible for establishing basic and advanced qualification and training standards

for employment of Montana’s public safety officers, as defined in MCA 44-4-401.

In addition, the Council:

  • conducts and approves training
  • provides for the certification and re-certification of public safety officers
  • is responsible for the suspension or revocation of certification of public safety officers

Council Members

The Council is to be made up of 13 members appointed by the Governor in accordance with MCA 44-4-402.

A list of specific Council Committees
is also available.

Name
Representing City Contact Info Term Expires
Tony Harbaugh, Chair Sheriff Miles City tharbaugh@ccsomt.com 01/01/2017
Bill Dial Montana Board of Crime Control Whitefish Bdialw1@bresnan.net 01/01/2015
Mike Batista Department of Corrections Helena  MBatista@mt.gov 01/01/2017
Jesse Slaughter
Local Law Enforcement Great Falls jslaughter@greatfallsmt.net 01/01/2015
James Cashell Montana Board of Crime Control Bozeman  Chipper639@msn.com 01/01/2017
Tia Robbin Public Representative Kalispell  tiar@nmar.com 01/01/2015
Georgette Hogan-Boggio County Attorney Hardin GHogan@co.bighorn.mt.us 01/01/2015
James Smith Chief of Police Libby libbypd-js@hotmail.com 01/01/2015
Jim Thomas Public Representative Canyon Creek barlazyjl@linctel.net 01/01/2017
Laurel Bulson Detention Centers Helena lbulson@lccountymt.gov 01/01/2017
Kimberly Burdick Public Representative Fort Benton kburdick@chouteaucosomt.com 01/01/2017
Lewis Matthews Tribal law Enforcement Wolf Point lmatthews@nemontel.net 01/01/2015
John Strandell State Government Law Enforcement Helena jstrandell@mt.gov 01/01/2017