AG’s Prescription Drug Advisory Council

Representative Tom Berry (Roundup) is a Montana native who currently ranches and owns an insurance agency. Rep. Berry has served one term in the Montana House of Representatives. On Dec 30, 2000, Rep. Berry lost a 17-year-old son as a result of illegal drug use.

Starla Blank (Helena) is a Pharmacy Implementation Manager for VHA, Inc. Prior to joining VHA in July 2009, Blank was the Pharmacy Clinical Coordinator at St. Peter’s Hospital in Helena. Blank is the current Chair of the Montana Pharmacy Association (MPA). She has been a leader in the effort to implement a prescription monitoring program in Montana.

Gallatin County Sheriff Jim Cashell (Bozeman) was appointed sheriff of Gallatin County in 2001 and has served on the board of the Montana Sheriffs and Peace Officers Association (MSPOA) since 1986. He has served as President of MSPOA in 1997 and in 2005.

Michael (Mike) Frank (Helena) is the President of Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Montana (BCBSMT). As an attorney and business leader, Frank has significant experience in corporate, insurance and health care law. He has served the members of BCBSMT for nearly 10 years, having recently been promoted to President from his position as Chief Legal and Operations Officer. Frank earned his Bachelor of Science degree in Psychology from Montana State University and his Juris Doctorate degree from the University of Montana.

Dr. Bill Gallea (Helena) earned his medical degree at the University of Minnesota and has worked as an emergency physician at St. Peter’s Hospital in Helena since 1993. He is currently serving as the President of the Montana Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians.

Marissa Getts (Columbia Falls) is a senior this year at Columbia Falls High School. She has served as Student Body President, and represented Montana as a Girls’ Nation Senator in 2010.

Wyatt Glade, Custer County Attorney (Miles City) is a fifth generation Montanan, growing up primarily in Prairie County. Glade was a collegiate and professional rodeo cowboy prior to becoming a lawyer. Glade has been practicing law for six years and is currently the Custer County Attorney.

Mark A. Long, Narcotics Bureau Chief (Helena) has been with the Montana Department of Justice Division of Criminal Investigation (DCI) for 22 years working as a narcotics investigator, regional supervisor, and bureau chief. Long has been the bureau chief for the DCI Narcotics Bureau since 1996 and currently manages the state-level narcotic investigation efforts in Montana.

Judge Thomas M. McKittrick (Great Falls) currently serves as the 8th Judicial District Court Judge, beginning his service in 1983. In 2005, Judge McKittrick founded the 8th Judicial District Adult Drug Treatment Court Program.

Dr. Michael Metzger (Billings) is a Laurel native who graduated from the University of Washington School of Medicine in 1986. Dr. Metzger completed a three-year Internal Medicine Residency in Phoenix, Arizona and has practiced as a Board Certified Internist in Billings since 1989.

Dr. Andrew Michel (Helena) is a graduate of the State University of New York at Buffalo School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences and currently works as an emergency physician and EMS Director for St. Peters Hospital. He is also past President of the Montana Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians and is on the Montana State Trauma Committee.

Kari Sproull, RN (Missoula) is the Missoula County Fetal Infant Child Mortality Review (FICMR) Coordinator. FICMR is dedicated to the goal of reducing the number of preventable deaths of infants and children in our state. Sproull was also the lead organizer of Missoula’s two successful drug take-back events in 2009.

Chief of Police Mark Muir (Missoula) has served the Missoula community as a police officer since 1991 and became Chief on June 1, 2008. Chief Muir is a member of the International Association of Chiefs of Police. He is also an executive board member of both the National Academy Associates and the Montana Association of Chiefs of Police. Chief Muir and his wife, Leslye, enjoy traveling around the United States and Mexico with their two dogs. Mark also enjoys hunting and fishing in the Northwest.

Russ Papke, Montana Division of Criminal Investigation (Kalispell) has been working in law enforcement for over twenty years. He was assigned to the Northwest Drug Task Force as the Drug Diversion Investigator in May of 2007.

Karl Rosston, LCSW (Helena) is the Suicide Prevention Coordinator for the Department of Public Health and Human Services. Rosston came to DPHHS from Shodair Children’s Hospital where he was the Director of Social Services and a therapist on the acute crisis unit. Previously, Rosston worked at the University of Colorado, where he was on the faculty of the Department of Psychiatry. He is a licensed clinical social worker who maintains a small private practice in Helena.

Ryan Rusche, Ft. Peck Tribal Attorney (Wolf Point) currently serves as counsel to the Assiniboine and Sioux Tribes of the Fort Peck Reservation. Rusche previously served as the county attorney for Roosevelt County. Rusche also serves as the chair of the Montana Human Rights Commission, is a member of the Board of Trustees of the State Bar of Montana, and was recently appointed to serve on the Governor’s Advisory Council Working Group on Local Government Issues to the Montana Department of Revenue.

Aubrey Ryffel (Highwood) is a senior this year at Highwood High School. A member of the Highwood High School Student Council for the past three years, Aubrey is serving this year as the State President for the Montana Association of Student Councils.

Representative Trudi Schmidt (Great Falls) has served in the Legislature since 1997 (three terms in the House and four in the Senate), during which time, she has been on the Health and Human Services standing Committee for six sessions and the Health and Human Services Interim Committee following five sessions.

Chief of Police Rich St. John (Billings) is a 29 year veteran of the Billings Police Department and was appointed to Chief in 2005. St. John oversees the Eastern Montana Drug Task Force and sits on the executive board of Rocky Mountain High Intensity Drug Traffic Area, a four state initiative.

Fred Van Valkenburg (Missoula) has been a prosecutor for 24 years and the Missoula County Attorney for the last 11 years. Van Valkenburg was a member of the Montana Senate for 20 years, during which time he served as both Majority Leader and President of the Senate.